Perfumes I love…

Perfumes that I love…

I am definitely a perfume girl – can’t leave my house without the fragrance that will easily express my mood and what I am up to at that moment ( actually, even if I don’t leave the house I like to use the fragrances to set my mood for the day!).

Obviously, I am solely expressing my opinion and personal experience: we have to consider that the same fragrance might smell slightly different from one person to the other .

Each person has his/her unique body chemistry: hormones, medications, diet, and even stress level, when “combined” with the fragrance scents (notes) can affect how it will “smell on your skin”. The compounds of your skin such as fat, sugar and proteins influence, and the skin type (dry or oily) together with your fragrance will produce a unique scent.

Naturally, my favorite fragrances are soft, have a lasting citrus note and maybe a touch of green tea, or a little woodsy scent at the end. As this would be the category that I would choose first, it would express my most raw personality traces, such as free-spirited, fun and outgoing.

In this category, some of my favorite are:

1- Bulgari “Extreme”:  its fragrance Family is “Fresh – Citrus Top. Its heart notes: Jasmine, Citrus, Rose and its base note is Green Tea. Some other touches come from bergamot, orange blossom, cardamom, coriander, pepper, jasmine, Bulgarian rose, and woods. More intense (concentration 15%) than the Eau Parfumee au The Vert, still as delicate and subtle as the original.

The bottle is elegant as well as the packaging. It comes in  1 oz and 3.4 oz.

I use it both casually or for special occasions, it really depends more on how I feel and how I want to be perceived.

Bulgary ed

2-Jo Malone Lime Basil & Mandarin Cologne: 30 or 100 ml, this cologne carries the scent of limes  on a Caribbean sea breeze, Lime Basil & Mandarin and it is considered a universal cologne – both men and women are delighted when using it. To me, the scent of fresh limes and mandarins is very distinctive and powerful, yet soft and pleasant. You can also smell the basil and thyme at the end.

I use when I want to exude that fresh and casual side of me – it’s usually one of my day time options.

There are some “flowery” ( as I playfully say… actually Floral) fragrances that really appeal to me also, bringing out that romantic, feminine side of me (and I believe every girl would feel the same…)

Jo Malone ed

1- Acqua Fiorentina:  CREED brought back Acqua Fiorentina and sure made a lot of women very happy. Creed is famous for its traditional art of making very exclusive fragrances:  founded in 1760 and passed from father to son since then, CREED is the only dynastic, privately held luxury fragrance company in the world. CREED is based in Paris.

Top Notes:

Lightly sweet greengage plum, Diamond Jubilee Apples and prumeau.

Middle Notes:

Renaissance roses, white carnations, Sicilian bergamot and Calabrian.

Base Notes:

Virginia cedar and Indian sandalwood are a heart-charming close, with a lively hint of white grapefruit.

At first I thought that it was a little sweet for me, but I suddenly started feeling not only feminine and romantic, but really unforgettable: it is a very distinctive fragrance.

Acqua Fiorentina ed

2- Elie Saab Le Parfum is another fragrance that I absolutely love: Mandarin tree blossom, gardenia and vetiver blend with warm honey rose and make a romantic and memorable  Eau de Toilette.

I also like the sophistication and simplicity of the bottle and packaging.

It comes in 1.7 and 3 oz. To me, it is a fragrance that you can use at any time.

Elie Saab ed

There is a very special category, basically a “my category”, that I call “intriguing, exotic and sensual”. And in this category I chose some of the most exquisite fragrances:

1– Violet Blonde by Tom Ford.

Top notes: violet leaf absolute, Italian mandarin and baie rose.
Middle Notes: Tuscan orris absolute, Tuscan orris butter and jasmin sambac sampaquita.
Bottom Notes: benzoin, cedarwood, vetiver absolute, silkolide and soft suede.

It is elegant and yet I feel empowered and sexy. It exotic and sophisticated. It’s mysterious.

As it is more of an opulent fragrance, most of the times I use for special occasions, or when I really want to feel empowered and transpire confidence.

Comes in 1.7 and 3.4 oz.

Tom Ford VB ed

Obviously, as I said when I started this article, I L-O-V-E perfumes, so I will be reviewing and giving my thoughts about other fragrances soon.

And you?  How do you feel today?  Which fragrance would express your mood and personality?

Leave a Reply

